The Promise of Rain

The Promise of Rain (Book 1)The Promise of Rain by Rula Sinara
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’›πŸ’› I thoroughly enjoyed The Promise of Rain. The story is about a young woman, Anna, who lives in Kenya with her four year old daughter, Pippa, and works at the Busara elephant research and rescue camp. She is devoted to her work there and intends to raise her daughter in Kenya. The problem is she forgot to mention her plans to the child’s father. In fact, she neglected to inform him that his child even exists! When he makes this discovery he wants to take his daughter back to the states to live with him, and that’s where the drama begins. From this point on we gradually learn of the many challenges each of the main characters faced growing up, which ultimately affected their own relationship with each other as adults. I found it all to be very emotionally engaging; it didn’t suffer from any lulls in the storyline and the ending was completely satisfying. The setting, on Kenya’s Serengeti, took my imagination on a thrilling, scenic ride that I didn’t want to get off of. The descriptions of the breathtaking scenery and awe-inspiring views made me feel as though I was right there on the vast plains of the Serengeti myself among the wildlife and Acacia trees.

This book was beautifully written and I would not hesitate to read another by Rula Sinara. Simply wonderful.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

