The Light Between Oceans

The Light Between OceansThe Light Between Oceans by M.L. Stedman
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ This was an interesting story that begins with a lighthouse keeper who finds a live baby and her dead father on a boat that has washed up ashore. The lighthouse keeper, Tom Sherbourne, is torn between the love and devotion he has for his wife, and the moral compass that guides his life course. His wife, who has suffered two miscarriages and one stillbirth wants to keep the child, but her husband’s desire is to report the missing child and the dead man because it’s the right thing to do. From there we read about the circumstances that ensue, and how each life is affected by the choice that is made.

I’m giving this book 4 stars because I felt it was very well written, although it was a little gloomy for my taste. The author did a great job of describing locales, and it was somewhat interesting to learn the responsibilities of a LightKeeper. However, I wasn’t particularly moved enough to ever consider reading it again. I laughed a couple of times and my eyes watered briefly once, but other than that I didn’t have that feeling like I couldn’t wait to get back to it….and rarely did I stop and reflect on any parts the way I do when a book grabs hold of me and I don’t want to let go. This of course is my humble opinion, and I’m not surprised that people loved this book. It simply wasn’t one of my all time favorites.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

