Blanche on the Lam by Barbara Neely – (Audiobook – Tantor Audio)

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 – 4.5 stars

When four of her employers go out of town without informing her, or paying her, sassy domestic worker, Blanche White, is forced to write a few bad checks that land her in hot water. She might be headed off to prison. Fortunately, a commotion surrounding an unfortunate event involving the county commissioner enables Blanche to make her escape from the courthouse without notice. What will she do? Where will she go? She finds herself in the home of a wealthy family, disguised as a former worker. Blanche figures she can make some money in the meantime before she’s found out and then move on with her life. But she’s chosen the wrong house to get lost in. Things are not what they appear to be in the household. So when two murders happen within her short stay at this hideout home, Blanche will need her quick wits to get away safe, and to uncover who did away with her newfound friend.

This book immediately drew me in. It was creative right from the start, which hooked me. And then Blanche’s personality, which mimicked some women I’ve encountered in real life and in the movies, entertained me. How can I explain her character? 🤔 It was a little like a mix of Octavia Spencer’s character, Minnie, from The Help, and Madea from one of Tyler Perry’s movies. One of my favorite characters was Mumsfield, a mentally challenged man with a big heart, a love of cars, and an instant attachment to and wholesome affection for Blanche. Mumsfield, although autistic, was very keen in many ways, and there was just so much to love about him.

I would not characterize this book as a cozy mystery because it contains some mature themes and serious subject matter; material that’s best suited for adult readers. It was not the comedic mystery that I thought it would be based on the cover. The setting was the Deep South, and if you are particularly sensitive about outspokenness regarding racial inequalities and prejudice, I’d think twice before picking up this one. Blanche can be a bit salty with her tongue, and other characters are not shy about expressing their feelings about minorities and using condescension in their tones. Nonetheless, the mystery aspect was top-notch, and I was both impressed and surprised by the outcome.

The audible narrator’s performance given by Lisa Reneé Pitts was OUTSTANDING!! She imitates male and female voices, dialects and accents with ease. As the villain, her maniacal laugh was priceless. I look forward to listening to other books she’s narrated.

Thank you, Tantor Audio, for a complimentary audio download of Blanche on the Lam. All opinions expressed about it are my own.

16 thoughts on “Blanche on the Lam by Barbara Neely – (Audiobook – Tantor Audio)

  1. I am so happy to see your review Laurie. I downloaded this one from Hoopla last month, but had to return it before I had a chance to listen to it. I am going to get it again after this review. Just a question, what is the timeframe for the story. Is that why there is a prejudicial and racial tone?

    Liked by 1 person

    • This one is a little raw, Carla. In the beginning I wasn’t sure if I would continue on with it. But I decided to finish and I’m glad I did because I wound up really, really enjoying it. I had to get used to The narrator’s style of speaking, but once I did, it was really very good.
      As far as the timeframe, I don’t remember it being mentioned. 🤔 If it was I didn’t note it. I’m sorry I don’t have the answer to that question. I just know it was first published in 1992.

      Like

  2. This sounds a little edgier than your usual choices, but I would think that a book that addresses some of these harder topics would necessarily incorporate difficult scenes of racism, etc. to put the actions in a light that reveals how wrong they are. I hope you can get your health issues sorted out soon.🙏

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Linda!! Yes, this one was an edgier read for me. I didn’t know it would be based on the cover. I thought it was a cozy mystery. Some parts were uncomfortable, but unfortunately it portrays some of the uglier realities of humanity. The mystery aspect was excellent though. 😃
      Thanks, Linda. 💕 I’ve been struggling with headaches and head pain, amongst other things, so I haven’t been reading much lately. I’ve been listening to audiobooks when I can though. Getting necessary tests set up. I hope to get some news and/or relief soon. Thanks so much for your continued support. 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

    • Hi, Jill. This book has some rough statements that might make a person feel uncomfortable at times, but the mystery really was excellent.
      Thanks, Jill. I’m still struggling with these headaches. I just might have to opt for an MRI. I really miss reading. I’m enjoying the audiobooks, but I still love sitting down with a good book. 😊

      Like

    • Aww…thanks, Angela. 🤗 I’ve missed reading everyone’s reviews too. I check in here and there when I’m able, but I’ve had a lot going on with sick friends, renovations and my own health issues, including debilitating headaches which have drastically affected my reading. 😤 I’m hoping it will all simmer down soon. I’ve been sad about not keeping up with posts. 😔

      Thanks so much for thinking about me. 🥰

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment