Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

Thank you to fellow book blogger and bibliophile, Ajoobacats, for tagging me in this  mid-year reading reflection tag.

Here’s my Goodreads READ list thus far for 2016:

*Best Book You’ve Read Yet in 2016

This is a really tough one because I’ve actually enjoyed all of the books I’ve read thus far this year.  If I have to choose one I’d say it would have to be The House on Primrose Pond by Yona Zeldis McDonough.  There were just so many elements that I loved about this book.

9780451475381-2

*Best Sequel You’ve Read So Far in 2016

The best sequel I’ve read so far this year is The Lost Garden by Katharine Swartz.  Not surprising since Book 1, The Vicar’s Wife, was my favorite book of 2013.

9781782641377

*New Release You Haven’t Read Yet But Want To

Truly an exhaustive list, beginning with all of the Harlequin Heartwarming books that I have, which are too many to mention, and these two:

A Haven on Orchard Lane by Lawana Blackwell, and The Red Door Inn by Liz Johnson.  I don’t know, I can’t resist those covers!!  Dumb, right?

9780764217937 25795314

*Most Anticipated Release for the Second Half of the Year

I love Karen Rose Smith’s Caprice De Luca Home Staging Mystery series, so my most anticipated release for the second half of the year would be her Shades of Wrath.

29564448

*Biggest Disappointment

I’m happy to say that none of the books I’ve read so far this year have been a big disappointment.

*Biggest Surprise

That would be Carol Ross’s If Not for a Bee.  I just loved that book.  It was like coming home to a warm fire, a cup of hot cocoa, a cat at my feet and chocolate chip cookies.

26083259

*Favorite New Author

That honor would have to go to Yona Zeldis McDonough, who I named above for The House on Primrose Pond.

*Newest Fictional Crush

I’d have to say Hugo Hawksworth from Elizabeth Edmondson’s A Man Of Some Repute.  He seemed very distinguished and debonair.  His cool manner when asking probing questions, and the way he cared for his very young sister, Georgia, makes him my newest fictional crush.  Also, he was wounded in war and walked with “that stick”, which made him even more crush-worthy for some reason.

(I was so sad, actually gasped, when I found out that the author, Elizabeth Edmondson, passed away only a month or so before I finished reading her book.)

24644196

*Newest Favorite Character

Bailey Sheppard from Jennifer Snow’s What A Girl Wants.  She owned a body shop, a motorcycle, and drove a tow truck, but she was also beautiful and feminine.  I loved that she could do a man’s job, while still exhibiting very lady-like qualities.

20261444

*Book That Made You Cry

So far no book has made me cry this year that I can recall.

*Book That Made You Happy

That would be Sophia Sasson’s First Comes Marriage.  I cracked up at some parts, and although I wasn’t sure how things were going to turn out, it truly had a happy ending.

First Comes Marriage

First Comes Marriage

*Favorite Book to Film Adaptation

I didn’t read any book to film adaptations yet this year that I’m aware of.

*Favorite Post You Have Done This Year

Probably my review for Back to McGuffey’s by Liz Flaherty.  I think it truly reflected my feelings about the book, which I really enjoyed.

23146868

*Most Beautiful Book You’ve Bought This Year

Beautiful as in the cover art?  Hmm…..that would have to be Robyn Carr’s Virgin River.  I love mountains, and the view pictured on the front cover is beautiful.  I have other books with beautiful covers, but technically they don’t count because I didn’t actually purchase them.

15801608

Oh wait, I just thought of another one.  Will it disqualify me somehow? It’s Amie Denman’s Under the Boardwalk.  I bought that one this year.  I love the cover because of that ferris wheel in the background.  There’s just something wonderful about carnivals. I think the cover is delightful.

27788622

*What Books Do You Need to Read by the End of the Year

These are the ones I really NEED to read before year-end, but there are others that I also WANT to read that are not included on this list:

2722071297807642179374260329564448285009802881135929492747270643782536345324933985

I Tag the Following Bloggers to do the Same:

Josbons

meditatingmummy

Kimmy

mugglebooks

anhistorianabouttown

 

 

7 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag

  1. Laurie, thank you for tagging me, I’m sorry I was away and didn’t get to comment. My reading time has dwindled to 20 mins at bed time the most and yet there are so many books on my list. To be posted soon…

    Like

    • No pressure whatsoever. If you’re too busy to do it please don’t feel obligated to. I just love your blog so much and wanted to see what you would have put together. But seriously, never feel like you have to. I can’t do them myself sometimes. (:

      Like

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag, Courtesy of Cozynookbks – An Historian About Town

Leave a Reply

