Review: First Comes Marriage

First Comes Marriage
First Comes Marriage by Sophia Sasson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

💚💚💚💚💚 Sophia Sasson’s Heartwarming debut, First Comes Marriage, is a winner!!

Dr. Meera Malhotra’s upcoming marriage to childhood friend Raj Sharma has already been arranged.  Raj is Meera’s best friend and shares her goals, culture and financial status. By all accounts it seems like a perfect match. Then why is Meera trying to escape her family in London under the guise of completing her medical rotation in the States?  In truth she wants to get away from all of the prearranged plans for her life for just a month so she can breathe and taste a bit of freedom. While a brief respite from her stifling life is anticipated, meeting Jake Taylor, the rugged, handsome green-eyed cowboy who makes her heart leap, is not. Meera loves Raj, but this feeling she has when she’s in Jake’s company is different. In fact, Jake’s whole world is different.  She’s a vegetarian and he’s a cattle rancher. She was born in India and he’s American.  Her family is loaded and he’s struggling to keep his ranch afloat.  Meanwhile, Raj is so much better suited to her. They’re both doctors, they’re of the same culture and they’ve known each other for 20 years. Everyone expects the two of them to marry.  The pressure is on.  Will Meera return to London, marry Raj and live the life she was destined for?  Or can Jake convince her that theirs is the love that she was meant to have?

First Comes Marriage was such an entertaining and enjoyable read. I loved the characters, both primary and secondary, and I’m always thrilled when my reading experience gives me a glimpse into other cultures. Sophia Sasson crafted a story that kept my interest and heightened it as I proceeded reading. By the time I was 3/4 of the way through the book I was flipping pages so fast that before I knew it I had finished.  I highly recommend this book to those who love sweet romance with a bit of family drama and lovable, small-town community characters that will make you spit out your beverage from unexpected laughter.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

