Review: The House on Primrose Pond

The House on Primrose Pond
The House on Primrose Pond by Yona Zeldis McDonough
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

**#1 RECOMMENDED READ**  

🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Compelling.  Intriguing.  Evocative. Enthralling. Captivating. These are the words that come to mind to describe my feelings about The House on Primrose Pond. Seriously, I never wanted to put the book down. It was so well constructed and comprised of so many riveting elements that I found myself glued to the pages, anxiously awaiting the next development. I was fully invested in the story, which actually consisted of two stories in one since the protagonist was a novelist who was writing a book.  I loved how the author incorporated a secondary story into the main one, giving you two tantalizing stories in one fascinating book.  And now, a little about the book…..
Susannah Gilmore experiences a tragedy in her life, upending it and taking her from her home in Brooklyn, New York to the small town of Eastwood, New Hampshire.  This is a prudent move given the circumstances, but one that her teenage daughter, Calista, struggles to embrace. The home that Susannah and her two children settle into in N.H. belonged to her now deceased parents, although technically they hardly ever lived there, having moved from the house before Susannah was born.  Her only memorable recollection of time spent there was one summer when she was about 17.  She recalls that her mother didn’t seem happy that summer.  That memory resurfaces when while moving in she finds what appears to be a love note to her mother that was not from her father.  Why was some other man giving her mother notes and writing her poems?  As Susannah uncovers more pieces to the puzzle her mother left behind, will she be able to accept the consequences that might result from her quest to find the truth.
Every once in a while a book comes along that seems especially written for you. It just speaks to your soul in a way that you understand.  It astounds you and you can’t stop thinking or talking about it.  That was my experience with The House on Primrose Pond. I just loved so many things about it – the tragic events, an old summer crush, a mystery poet, grief, human imperfection, a little romance, widowhood, presumed infidelity, a pristine setting, lovable animals and fascinating wildlife.  It was a gem with so many brilliant facets that kept me longing for the next revelation.

Yona Zeldis McDonough is a phenomenal storyteller and I am so glad I discovered her as an author along with her book, The House on Primrose Pond. I enjoyed this book immensely, and can’t recommend it highly enough.  It was an extraordinary read that easily ranks among one of my all-time favorites.  Now I’m off to investigate what else she’s written…..

Thank you so much to Penguin Random House and Yona Zeldis McDonough for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review which I have given.

View all my reviews

3 thoughts on “Review: The House on Primrose Pond

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday – The House on Primrose Pond by Yona Zeldis McDonough | Cozynookbks

Leave a comment