Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

wpid-wp-1441722299741

Thank you Ajoobacats blog for nominating me for this amazing award. Please forgive the delay as I was vacationing.

Here are the rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
2. Put the award logo on your blog.
3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.
4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
5. Nominate ten blogs.

Ajoobacats blog questions:

1. When did you realize you had a passion for reading?

The earliest memory I have is when I came across the Judy Blume books as a young person.  I remember devouring them.  Are You There God it’s Me Margaret was one of my favorites back then.  Also, it was those little scholastic book club newsletters that were sent home to parents for their young ones to order books.  I couldn’t wait to get my shiny, new books.
2. How does blogging enrich your life?

My blog is made up mostly of book reviews, so blogging enriches my life because I feel I’m making a contribution to the success of good writers.  I try hard to choose books that I’ll most likely enjoy, and when I do I can write about them and expose others to their great books.
3. Are there any films you’ve seen that are better than the book upon which they are based?

I have to admit that most books I’ve read are better than the film version. However, I’ve enjoyed the following films better than, or as much as, the book:

The Help, Without a Trace (I think the book was called Still Missing), Anne of Green Gables

I’ll have to take more time to think about this one.
4. Can you remember the first fiction book you ever bought?

Unfortunately I can’t remember the first fiction book I ever bought.
5. What do you do with your old books?

I keep the ones I can’t bear to part with, some go to my local used book store, some I trade at paperbackswap.com, and some I give to friends or relatives to read.
6. If you were to write a book, which genre would you choose?

That’s a tough one because I like so many genres, including:  mystery, historical fiction, true crime, romance, literary fiction….  If I had the SKILL, I’d write a historical fiction book or a good mystery.

7. Are you a dog person or a cat person?

Both.  I love dogs for the interaction, companionship and loyalty;  and cats for their quiet reserve, easy maintenance and snooty attitude.
8. What’s your pet peeve when it comes to grammar?

I don’t like to see words misused.  It troubles me to see the word Your (your, you’re) misused; and also To (to, too, two); and There (there, their, they’re).  Quite often I come across social media posts that are grammatically incoherent.  I don’t mind a mistake here and there because nobody’s perfect. I’m no scholar myself, far from it.  However, there’s no excuse for atrocious grammar.
9. What do you do to unwind after a particularly emotional read?

I take time to reflect on and relive the poignant moments.  Once, I sat and cried for a few minutes because a character in a book really touched me. I guess I’m a glutton for punishment.
10. Do you prefer stand alone books or a long running series?

I’m still trying to figure that out.  When I read a great book with a satisfying ending I’m fine with it.  However, it’s nice to read about familiar characters that I’ve loved getting to know.

These were such wonderful questions Ajoobacats.  Thank you for the opportunity to answer them. I enjoyed them so much I want to borrow them to use for the 10 bloggers I select, since they’re very similar to ones I had in mind.  I hope you don’t mind.

My Ten Questions, borrowed from Ajoobacats blog:

1.  When did you realize you had a passion for reading?

2.  How does blogging enrich your life?

3.  Are there any films you’ve seen that are better than the book upon which they are based?

4.  Can you remember the first fiction book you ever bought?

5.  What do you do with your old books?

6.  If you were to write a book, which genre would you choose?

7.  Are you a dog person or a cat person?

8.  What’s your pet peeve when it comes to grammar?

9.  What do you do to unwind after a particularly emotional read?

10.  Do you prefer stand alone books or a long running series?

My Ten Nominees:

1. Meditating Mummy

2.  Jordan Bates

3.  Josbons

4.  Rissi

5.  Anhistorianabouttown

6.  Adopting James

7.  Mary C.M. Phillips

8.  Anoop

9.  Ana Spoke

10.  Lola @ Hit or Miss Books

Leave a Reply

