Review: Sailing in Style

Sailing in Style
Sailing in Style by Dana Mentink

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’™ Sailing in Style is the second book in the Love by Design series, and I have to say it is one of my favorite Heartwarming books to date. This one really struck a chord with me. I had a wonderful time aboard the old River King, a paddle-wheel riverboat, along with the menagerie of characters in the book. I laughed, I pondered, I imagined, I hoped….I was pleasantly engrossed in the story to the final page, which of course ended satisfyingly sweet.
Dana Mentink’s suspense-writer instincts are a little evident in this book and I LOVED that. There are so many great facets to this novel, and the romance aspect is but one of them. In it we find
a run-down historic riverboat in desperate need of some TLC, a crook, a bit of intrigue, a legend, a mystery, former lovers, a celebrity wannabe, sweet old feisty women, a parakeet named Peaches, and my old pal Baggy the dog, the lovable, pitiful creature that resembles a mole or something. Β The characters truly run the gamut, and this made the story both fun and exciting. I enjoy a book that I can’t wait to get back to. Β The author accomplishes this by finishing off each chapter at a fever pitch, leaving you in anticipation of what’s to follow. It was a romance book, yes, but oh so much more. It was like I was watching a good movie in my mind. Dana Mentink has a way with words that I easily relate to. Her comedic voice resonates with me and I think that’s why I have an affinity for her books, and each one seems to just get better and better. Sailing in Style exceeded my expectations and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys romance plus a whole lot more.
Thank you Dana Mentink for a copy of this much beloved book. I have provided an honest review in return.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

