Review: State of the Onion

State of the Onion
State of the Onion by Julie Hyzy

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Olivia “Ollie” Paras is Assistant chef in the White House kitchen. She aspires to become Executive Chef following the approaching retirement of highly esteemed Executive Chef and colleague, Henry.  While on her way back from purchasing a retirement gift for Henry, Ollie witnesses an intruder running on White House grounds. Although Secret Service is unable to detain him, Ollie, hidden from sight, manages to clobber the intruder with the skillet she just bought for Henry. But there’s something odd about this man.  Instead of wanting to harm the President, he seems to want to warn him of something. Stranger still he addresses one of the Secret Service by name and inquires about his family. Something’s fishier than the trout in the White House kitchen. Who is this man?  Later, while watching the scene of the incident at home on t.v., Ollie notices that the footage has been altered. The man on t.v. is not the same man that she whacked with the skillet. When she tries to convince her Secret Service boyfriend Tom of this discrepancy, he’s incredulous and tries to convince her that she doesn’t know what she saw. Is he right? Are her eyes playing tricks on her? Can she trust Tom after all?

I loved this White House Chef Mystery!! I actually listened to it on Audible and it was a great experience. The narrator really brought the characters to life and I was enthralled by the story and thoroughly engrossed to the very end. It was so much fun hearing the voices of several of the characters that were from other countries; an added bonus to my listening experience. The descriptions of food being prepared in the kitchen made me hungry!! I’d read wonderful reviews about Julie Hyzy’s White House Chef Mystery series so I decided to check it out. I’m sure glad I did. If you’re a fan of cozy mysteries, I am rather certain you will love State of the Onion. I did!!

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: State of the Onion

Leave a Reply

