Review: Ruby

Ruby
Ruby by Cynthia Bond

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Ruby is not quite what I was expecting. This was not my kind of book, and I was not able to discern this from the book’s description, otherwise I would not have requested to read it. Since Ruby contains material that is both disturbing and far outside of my comfort zone, I have decided to discontinue reading it. I especially do not feel comfortable reading books that contain voodoo and the occult. I am also not particularly interested in reading long, detailed accounts of sexual abuse because I find it depressing.  If this were non-fiction I might be a little more inclined to stick it out because it would be someone’s actual experience and you can’t sugarcoat facts; it is what it is. However, I don’t find it necessary or desirable to sit through a fictional account of sexual depravity and such.  I feel that my time would be better spent reading something more desirable. This book can be mentally draining which is not desirable to me.
I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: Ruby

Leave a Reply

