Review: Novel Interiors: Living in Enchanted Rooms Inspired by Literature

Novel Interiors: Living in Enchanted Rooms Inspired by Literature
Novel Interiors: Living in Enchanted Rooms Inspired by Literature by Lisa Borgnes Giramonti

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ Novel Interiors by Lisa Borgnes Giramonte is a beautifully illustrated coffee table book that showcases rooms that presumably convey the style and character of famous literary works. Sprinkled amid these lovely, modern-day photographs are quotes from well-known books that mirror the particular picture being featured. Giramonte essentially uses book content to describe decor.  For instance, a small excerpt from Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women, in which a “wilderness of books” is mentioned, is placed alongside a picture of a bookshelf with a copious amount of books.  Since Novel Interiors is called “the ultimate book-lover’s guide to decorating”, this method worked nicely for me.

Some authors, and their books that inspired the styles represented in Novel Interiors, included:  Jane Austen (Sense and Sensibility, Persuasion, Emma), Charles Dickens (Bleak House, David Copperfield, Our Mutual Friend), Louisa May Alcott (Little Women), Lucy Maud Montgomery (The Anne of Green Gables series), Henry James (A London Life), F. Scott Fitzgerald (The Great Gatsby, Tender Is the Night), Emily Brontë (Wuthering Heights) and many others. Each author’s book fell under one of six categories.  The section entitled Shall I Put the Kettle On really resonated with me because it contained inspiration from some of my favorite authors’ and their books—Jane Austen’s Persuasion, Elizabeth Gaskell’s Cranford and Frances Hodgson Burnett’s The Secret Garden. My second favorite was the section Remembrance of Things Past which featured Edith Wharton’s The Age of Innocence, Henry James’s A London Life and also Nancy Mitford’s The Pursuit of Love. I was inspired to acquaint myself with some of the novels I haven’t read after perusing the photographs that their books represented. I didn’t connect with some of the other sections that were of a different era. This is just according to my own personal taste, and I understand that others will likely be thrilled by photographs representing the era of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby and George Du Maurier’s Trilby. I only skimmed those pages recognizing that there is a little something in this book for many tastes, and as a coffee table picture book this is likely the preferred way to enjoy it.

I appreciated the tips and advice on decorating and the part that mentioned growing herbs in your kitchen, the different types and their medicinal benefits.

Overall I found Novel Interiors very visually stimulating and a fun, creative way to look at decorating. I could see enjoying it again and again in the future, and I definitely think it will invite pleasant conversation while displayed on a coffee table.

I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review which I have given.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

