Review: Tailing a Tabby

Tailing a Tabby
Tailing a Tabby by Laurie Cass

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️💫  I enjoyed this cozy mystery about a Librarian, Minnie Hamilton, who drives a Bookmobile with her cat Eddie and teenaged volunteer Thessie, and lives on a houseboat. One day Minnie helps to rescue a male stroke victim while driving the bookmobile and they become fast friends. When the man, who happens to be an accomplished artist, is arrested for a murder he presumably did not commit, Minnie springs into action to help find the real killer. This was a fun read, and although I didn’t read the first book in the series it didn’t seem to make a difference. I loved reading about Eddie the cat because I’m a cat owner myself and could identify with the cuteness of Eddie’s kitty antics.  I didn’t feel that Eddie was a major contributor to the solving of the murder, but he was a constant feature of the book.  I also really liked some of the quirky characters, especially Trock Farrand, star of the cooking show Trock’s Troubles. He came across as charming and a bit eccentric.  I found myself chuckling whenever his character was present.  At times I had a little trouble keeping all of the characters straight, and I didn’t see how the side story of Minnie’s Aunt Frances and her matchmaking attempts fit with the story, but nevertheless it was a good cozy. I’ve heard some reviewers say they really liked the first book in the series so I might have to go back and read that one. If you are a fan of cozy mysteries you’ll probably like this one too. I received this book free from Dru’s Book Musings, and in exchange have provided an honest review.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

