Staged to Death by Karen Rose Smith

IMG_3269.JPG ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️  I thoroughly enjoyed Staged to Death by Karen Rose Smith. This is book 1 in the Caprice De Luca Mystery series. Caprice is a professional home stager who has been hired by her old High School friend Roz Winslow to stage her castle-like mansion that she shares with her husband Ted, so that they can sell it. Little does Caprice know that she and Roz will find Ted dead in the couple’s home, stabbed by one of his own prized weapons. Caprice goes into action to protect her friend while trying to find the killer. This cozy really resonated with me for several reasons. The story flowed effortlessly…no lulls, and I was easily able to acquaint myself with the main characters. I was immersed in the book to the very end. I really liked the protagonist, Caprice. Her eclectic, retro style presented a vivid picture of her personality, as well as her surroundings, whether it was her staging projects or times when she was entertaining in her home. Also, the book mentions so many of my favorite things: loving family members, great food, recipes, cute pets, flowers, and an intriguing murder mystery. I really liked that the murderer wasn’t far fetched because it actually gave me the opportunity to figure out who might have done it. Although there were quite a few names mentioned in the book, I was able to keep up with who was who. Additionally, I’m actually happy that book 2, Deadly Decor, is available because I am convinced I would enjoy another cozy featuring Caprice De Luca. In summary, this was one of my favorite cozies. I enjoyed it so much that in the end I think I would have been happy with whoever the murderer was because the story was good nevertheless. I received this book free from the author in exchange for a fair and honest review which I have given.

Leave a Reply

