Bittersweet

BittersweetBittersweet by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 3.5 stars. When Bittersweet opens we find Mabel Dagmar, a college student who is average in appearance and social standing, rooming with Genevra “Ev” Winslow, a beautiful, self-absorbed, rich snob who cares about little more than herself. Mabel is enamored with Ev’s affluent lifestyle, so when she is invited to spend the Summer with her at Bittersweet, her cottage in Vermont on her family’s lavish estate, she is elated and eager to accompany her there. Instead of fun, carefree days spent with her new friend, Mabel encounters sordid family secrets that shatter her fantasies of what it means to live amongst the wealthy.

Bittersweet is one of those books that I had to ponder before rating. There were parts I liked about the book, as well as parts I disliked. There was a mysterious undertone that pervaded the book that I found intriguing. From nearly the very beginning I felt as though something was not quite right with some of the main characters, and I think the author did a good job of keeping me in suspense. There were a few elements of surprise that caught me off guard and kept me interested enough to keep turning the pages to see what was going to happen next. I loved the names that were chosen to represent the characters, and overall I think the writer is a good storyteller. Those are some of the things that I appreciated about he book. What I didn’t appreciate was the explicit content and, in my opinion, the unnecessary use of foul language. While I didn’t feel that it was excessive in the beginning, it progressed to an uncomfortable level, along with content that I found disturbing and out of my comfort zone. I also felt that the book was a bit too lengthy. I almost lost interest a couple of times, like the book was dragging, but fortunately the story would gain momentum and I was again drawn in. I found that by the time the book neared its end I was glad to be done with it. The plot twists, while satisfying, were not always believable. I remember feeling as though many books these days are somewhat predictable in nature.

Overall I believe that many people would enjoy this book. As for me, due to some undesirable elements, as well as less than believable plot twists, it was not one of my favorites. I was shocked and amazed by some of it, and would think twice before reading another book by Miranda Whittemore.

I received this book free from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review which I have given.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

