All Things Hidden

All Things HiddenAll Things Hidden by Tracie Peterson
My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 All Things Hidden was a Goodreads, firstreads giveaway that I received free in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Goodreads and Bethany House.

I feel this book deserves a solid 3.5 stars. I have to admit that I didn’t realize I had requested a Christian inspirational book. Nevertheless, I enjoyed it. The setting is rural Alaska in the 1930’s where colonists settled to make a new life for themselves during the Depression. It was nice reading about Alaska with its mountain views, wild animals and rustic surroundings. The story flowed well; there was even some mystery and intrigue. The characters held my attention and the ending was satisfying. However, I agree with another reviewer regarding the theology in the book. All Christians do not interpret the Bible identically, so references to, and explanations of scripture can be diverting and bothersome rather than enlightening and upbuilding. This was precisely my experience. I was able to gloss over the parts I didn’t agree with, but would have appreciated the book more without it. But after all it is marketed as Christian fiction so I cannot allow my personal feelings about the beliefs presented to detract from my overall rating, and therefore I feel confident about awarding it 3.5 stars.

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “All Things Hidden

Leave a Reply

