The Paris Wife

The Paris WifeThe Paris Wife by Paula McLain

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

⭐️⭐️⭐️ In a previous review I gave 3 reasons why a book would earn 5 stars from me.  In this review I will list 3 reasons why a book wouldn’t receive any more than 3. This is the case if more than a few times I begin to:  1) feel bored, 2) ask myself “why am I reading this?”, and 3) long to be reading something else.  Unfortunately, The Paris Wife evoked all three at one time or other and thus I cannot rate it more than 3 stars. I really thought I was going to love this book. It started out rather promising but as I read on I began to feel like I was trudging through it. I almost abandoned it by around page 200 but decided that I’d invested too much time in it and so I laboriously continued on to the finish. It was just not very interesting to me. Maybe I’m just not much into Paris and the Roaring 20’s with its very eccentric characters. Perhaps it’s just not an era that I find particularly enthralling. However, I see how others might. Nevertheless, The Paris Wife can only be considered mediocre to me.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

